Some book questions

So a few friends (Joel and Drew) sent this thing they did on their blogs… it’s about favorite books. And I really like books. So I thought I’d try it. Then I ran into a small snag. Like I said, I really like books. So how can I put just one book in each category? Short answer – I can’t.

So, here’s the book list, inspired by Joel and Drew. (if’n you would like to get in on the fun, please do – I’d love to read about your favorites – and maybe make some new ones for myself – make sure and let me know…)

1. A few books that changed your life:

The Divine Conspiracy by Dallas Willard,
Rich Christians in an Age of Hunger by Ron Sider,
Announcing the Reign of God: Evangelization and the Subversive Memory of Jesus by Mortimer Arias,
The Prophetic Imagination by Walter Bruggeman,
Good News About Injustice by Gary Haugen.

2. A few books that you’ve read more than once:

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien,
Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton,
The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis,
Power of One by Bryce Courtnay,
The Jesus I Never Knew by Phillip Yancey.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:

I’d have to say “Kahlea’s complete guide to classic surf board construction” (How to build a surfboard out of trees, just as the ancient Hawai’ians did…)

4. A few books that made you laugh:

Handling Sin by Michael Malone,
America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction by Jon Stewart and friends (thanks Laura… funny, funny, funny…)

5. A few books that made you cry:

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini,
Lament for a Son by Nicholas Wolterstorff,
A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis,
Imagining Argentina by Lawrence Thornton

6. A few books you wish had never been written:

“The Left Behind Series” by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins (The worst novels ever written)
“Prayer of Jabez” by Bruce Wilkinson

7. One book you wish had been written:

The Prayer of Shabez (Jabez’s next door neighbor).

8. A few books you’re currently reading:

Where Is God?: Earthquake, Terrorism, Barbarity, And Hope by Jon Sobrino,
Introducing Liberation Theology by Leonardo Boff,
Inscape by Ross Snyder.

9. A few books you’ve been meaning to read:

Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe,
The God of Life by Gustavo Gutierrez,
Open Veins of Latin America: Five Centuries of the Pillage of a Continent by Eduardo Galeano,
The Hard Way by Lee Child (and maybe one or two more…)

So, what would make it on your list?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Some book questions

  1. Joel

    hey Ben,

    I enjoyed reading your lists. I laughed at your ‘books that shouldn’t have been written’ I think those would be on the top of my list too. I just finished ‘100 years of solitude’which made me think a lot of South america specifically and some just about the comonalities of poverty around the world.

  2. Cara

    Ben!

    Permit me to steal your originally unoriginal idea for my own blog? And maybe add a few categories of my own?

    Kudos on your choices.

Leave a Reply

