Every good and perfect gift

This morning I was sitting at the table eating my breakfast of pancakes and coffee and enjoying the morning. I got to thinking about yesterday, and how it was a great day on so many levels. I began to think about what I would say about it when I told you all the details.

But as I thought for a while, I decided I wouldn’t say anything.

You know how some moments are precious and intimate – meant to be shared with a select few – a father, a mother, a sister, a brother, a lover… Gifts that are treasures from the giver to the giftee…. That’s kind of how I feel about yesterday. Not that I wouldn’t tell each of you about it. But when I start to look at the good things in my life – the blessings – as fodder for stories, then something is out of whack in my life.

I want to be able to accept it for the gift that it is from my Heavenly Father – the one who sends every good gift into my life – and enjoy it for what it is. I want to be glad and savor it as it comes without needing to analyze it for the aspects that will make interesting reading material for my audience, without dissecting it for beauty or word pictures or signs of grace. Some gifts are meant to be shared. Some days are meant to be shared.

But, yesterday was a gift from my Dad to me. And I’m thankful for it.

Leave a comment

Filed under father, food for thought, gift, thanks

Leave a Reply

