Happy New Year

It’s funny how things work – the times my writing output is most prolific are the times that posting to the blog dwindles away to almost nothing.

It isn’t that there is nothing to write about. It’s definitely not that I’m not writing. It’s that I’m writing so much I can’t decide what is or is not appropriate in this setting… I could turn it into an online journal (Dear Diary, today when I tasted the milk I poured into my cold cereal, I realized it had spoiled. It almost made me throw up. Icky!) I could simply save this space for my philosophical, existential, spiritual ramblings… I could just tell the funny stories and adventures (like that time after Christmas when we went out to an island and were marooned there when our boat didn’t return to pick us up, and we had to talk to a random cargo boat that stopped at our beach and talk him into taking us home).

But I don’t want it to be just one or the other. Maybe that’s my problem. I’m afraid of commitment, and I don’t want to limit my options. =) I do know I do want to continue sharing my life with those of you who come by and take the time to read my words. Rest assured that it will involve all of the above, and maybe a bit less existential hand-wringing and navel-gazing on “the nature of blogging.”

I have a good feeling about this next year; like something big is looming just over the horizon that I can’t quite see yet. Anticipation and promise… Maybe “the year of living dangerously?” Maybe just another special, unique year in the life – full, rich, open to both new possibilities and old friends, with laughter and tears and adventures for all…

I leave you with a few thoughts from today’s Sacred Space

“A new year is like a new birth… we are reminded that life is always new, grace flows new each day and in every moment. In the dawn of New Year’s Day God is visiting us ‘like the dawn from on high’. Offer in prayer your hopes for this coming year – hopes for yourself, hopes for others.”

3 Comments

Filed under anticipation, hope, new year

3 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Anonymous

    happy new year ben. i am one of the lucky ones that gets to count reading your blog as part of my “work.” it is always a great part of my day.

    love,
    amanda

  2. Swift

    Happy New Year friend!

  3. Liz

    haha, don’t limit those options, it might not be perfect! 🙂

    i also always enjoy internet stalking you and seeing what is new in rio. keep posting or i’ll have kara fly down to rio and shout “oh ganta” right in your face.

Leave a Reply

