Miscellany on my mind (a list)

This last week I’ve had a bit more down-time than usual, what with the holiday (New Year’s) and my little ear infection I’ve been fighting. I’ve also been finishing up an article on suffering for “The Cry”, WMF’s advocacy magazine. So, I wanted to share a few of the things that have been feeding me ideas, providing me concepts to chew on, and generally been distracting me…

  • Veronica Mars – I found this “teen-noir high school detective” show on DVD… and while I enjoy the snappy dialogue, well written stories, and may have just a bit of a crush on Kristen Bell (or at least her character…), I’d like to believe that part of the appeal is on a deeper level as well. Dorothy Sayers said it beautifully: “Detective stories keep alive a view of the world which ought to be true. Of course, people read them for fun, for diversion… But underneath they feed a hunger for justice, and heaven help us if ordinary people cease to feel that.”

  • Harry Potter – I was one of the ones that liked it. I liked it a lot. The themes of family, redemption, love, duty, and courage still are echoing in my mind and my heart.

  • Ecclesiastes 3 – While the whole chapter has been mined extensively, from pop culture to anthropological works, I was pointed to a small gem at the end of a chapter by a friend. Right after the famous “There is a time for everything under the sun” passage lurks a few words I had never noticed before – “…and God will call the past to account.” These two phrases juxtaposed so closely together set me pondering…
“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men…”
“…and God will call the past to account.”

Life will not always be suffering, tears, and tragedy. There is hope in the God of justice. The past WILL be called to account.

  • Upside Down: A Primer for the Looking-Glass World – Eduardo Galeano. At once thought provoking, infuriating, and funny. You probably won’t agree with all that he says. You might not agree with any of it. But he says it with wit, intelligence, and the desire to challenge our assumptions about everyday life in “the North” by questioning what we think we know.

  • Shad K – I’ve only heard one of his songs – a beautiful, brilliant piece called “I’ll never understand…” I sat on the roof tonight watching the stars, listening to it over and over, holding back the tears… tragedy, suffering, ugliness, forgiveness, and beauty…

  • Song of Songs 8:6 – “…for love is strong as death, passion fierce as the grave. Its flashes are flashes of fire, a raging flame.” I want to love others like that. I want to be loved like that…

  • Telling the Truth: The Gospel as Tragedy, Comedy, & Fairy Tale – Frederick Buechner. – Probably one of my favorite reads of this past year… and probably of this coming year as well. His acceptance of the world as a tragically broken place, his ludicrously comic assertion that in spite of it all, we are loved by God, and the undying hope that, like the fairy tale, one day there will be a “happily ever after” where all is made new, justice is done, and love transforms the most ghastly of creatures into living works of art.

What’ve been the influences on your heart and mind lately?

2 Comments

Filed under beauty, distractions, influence, media, things i like

2 responses to “Miscellany on my mind (a list)

  1. laura

    so, you are a really good writer. have a told you that before? just thought i’d let you know. perhaps you should look into writing book synopses…? 🙂

  2. Jen

    I must say that I LOVE Veronica Mars. I discovered it only in its sad 3rd season (1 and 2 are much better).
    Before I left for vacation, I borrowed your Arrested Development (at least they told me it was yours) from Jeremy. I know you’re probably missing it, but it’s found a good (2nd) adopted home and will probably make it back your way soon.

Leave a Reply

