Waking up

The words slowly penetrated my sleep-fogged brain – “I know you’re there. Pick up. I’m going to keep talking until you pick up. Answer me. Are you asleep? What’s going on? Where are you? …I can SAVE you!!!” (What do you mean by that, I wondered). The fan was blowing on high, my bed was sticky and wet with sweat, and I’m not the world’s greatest morning person, so I was a tad grumpy, but this voice just kept on talking.

I didn’t immediately recognize the voice, but it sounded like someone I should know. Why was he leaving these long rambly messages on my answering machine early in the morning? I pried myself out of bed, stumbled down the stairs, only to find that there were no messages on my machine. I climbed the stairs back up to my room, where I had an epiphany – I had been woken up by Will Smith (yes, that Will Smith), thanks to the neighboring video rental place deciding to play their brand new bootlegged copy of “I am Legend” at 7:30 in the morning, and the stirring scene where Will has to leave a really long message on an answering machine.

Thanks guys.

3 Comments

Filed under celebrity, sleep

3 responses to “Waking up

  1. Emily

    You had me thinking it was the audible voice of God for a few seconds there. Not that Will Smith doesn’t have good things to say:)

  2. David

    haha i actually just saw that movie today. and where is this video rental place? i only remember places to purchase videos (of dubious legality, of course).

  3. ben

    – em – not God. but i agree – will smith has some pretty good things to say. “party in the city where the heat is on… getting jiggy wit’ it…”

    – dave – it’s about three houses down (right across from the roast chicken place). not sure what it was when you were here. the joys of favela businesses – it used to be a video place, then changed to a clothing store, then a bar, then just a snack bar, and now is once again a black market DVD place (although if they sell or rent, i’m not entirely sure…)

Leave a Reply

