Dreams

I’ve been excited lately by the power of dreams… of the power of hope… (I’m a little upset that Obama already took that great line – “the audacity of hope…” – because it truly is an audacious thing to hope in a world that looks like ours.)

As a culture, society, world, we need hope. And lately, I have begun to allow myself to hope again – to dream – to imagine…

Lately, I’ve been thinking about the question – “If failure wasn’t a possibility, what would you dare to try in your life? If you couldn’t fail, what dreams would you follow and follow hard?”

And I have lots of ideas – some more concrete than others… But I’m curious about ya’ll… I’ll share my ideas if you share yours… Yet tonight I’m tired – exhausted emotionally, physically, mentally, and spiritually. Entering into the darkness does that to me. So I go to bed – to rest, to sleep, perchance to dream…

—–

This, therefore, is a faded dream of the time when I went down into the dust and noise of the Eastern market-place, and with my brain and muscles, with sweat and constant thinking, made others see my visions coming true. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that all was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes, and make it possible.
~ T.E. Lawrence ~ The Seven Pillars of Wisdom
1 Comment

Filed under dreams, food for thought, hope, questions

One response to “Dreams

  1. wanderingellimac

    sometimes I get scared to ask that question.
    1. because failure is a very real option
    2. because it takes a whole lot of effort.
    but the reward is so great. i’ll have to do some thinking on this one.
    i think it is exhausting to live in the darkness…but it is also exhausting to come back into the light. to grab hold of the hope and refuse to relinquish it.
    thanks for the challenging thoughts.

Leave a Reply

