The island

Last Friday morning, I woke up after two hours of sleep at 4 AM to head out with Kate, Heidi, and Mel to Ilha Grande for a quick debriefing/retreat/enjoy the beauty of Rio. It was a quick trip – the highlights including:

– Bruising or fracturing my coccyx on a “natural” rock slide – the injury (which leaves me sitting tenderly up to this moment – especially when sitting down on a bouncing Rio bus) occurred when my butt, traveling quickly, hit a small pile of rocks that had been buried in sand, but by the time my tailbone met up with them, where no longer buried…

– Seeing bright yellow and red starfish while snorkeling that were over a foot in diameter…

– Spending the day at Brazil’s “2nd most beautiful beach” and having fun with my camera

– Catching the last few minutes of “Big Trouble in Little China” on the TV in my room…

– Chatting with the two med students from the UK who were vacationing for a few days after volunteering in Bolivia with YWAM, and were now heading back to school…

– Eating fresh fish and shrimp while sitting on the beach, sand between my toes and listening to the lapping of the waves in the bay…

– Watching the sunset from the ferry riding home as it painted the sky and water…

It made me ask myself, “Why didn’t I take the opportunity to do a Semester at Sea while I was in college?” It’s probably a good thing I didn’t, because if I had, I might never have left, and would now find myself either a surf hobo or a pirate. So, I guess it’s for the best.

I’ll put up some pictures when I get the chance. It’s not super high on the list of priorities, but it will happen eventually. And now, I should get to bed. The house is quiet and silent, as I’m once again living alone – the Servant Team which was here since February, and was excellent and amazing and great, has moved on… And it’s exciting for them, but the house still feels empty.

And on that note, I am going to bed…

—–

Update – so I put up some pictures from Ilha Grande, for those who are interested. If you want to see some, click here, and enjoy…

3 Comments

Filed under adventures, Ilha Grande, photos, retreat, servant team, tired

3 responses to “The island

  1. Calvin

    Yes dude, I think I have yet to see the word coccyx used. Way to bring it back to life!

  2. Jennica

    Ben- what kind of furniture do you have these days… if you still have those plastic stools that we used when we were there… your tailbone will be hurting for some time to come…not a fun time. Take care friend.

  3. ben

    thanks calvin. just trying to keep it real… and jennica, we still do have the plastic stools… but i more sit on the real chairs that i now have (or the couch – that’s been the comfy spot of choice of late.)

    let me tell you, it’s no fun riding the bus… still. ouch. =) such is life, right?

Leave a Reply

