hope and tragedy

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
~ Emily D.
—–
Watching the news this morning, watching what’s happening in Iran with bated breath, keeping apace with blogs and youTube… and praying. Seeing beauty and tragedy, tears in my eyes… a couple of things that moved me to pray, to hope, to look forward, and wish I could do more…
It is beautiful to see those who have been afraid stop being afraid.
It is beautiful to see people united, crying out for justice and a voice.
It is beautiful seeing a people crying out to God.
It is beautiful to see people stand up and say “enough!”
It brings tears to my eyes watching people confront the possibility of death, and continue to walk forward.
I am afraid for them, saddened by the violence and repression – yet full of hope as well.
The following is a translation via NIAC of an Iranian blogger:
“I will participate in the demonstrations tomorrow. Maybe they will turn violent. Maybe I will be one of the people who is going to get killed. I’m listening to all my favorite music. I even want to dance to a few songs. I always wanted to have very narrow eyebrows. Yes, maybe I will go to the salon before I go tomorrow! There are a few great movie scenes that I also have to see. I should drop by the library, too. It’s worth to read the poems of Forough and Shamloo again. All family pictures have to be reviewed, too. I have to call my friends as well to say goodbye. All I have are two bookshelves which I told my family who should receive them. I’m two units away from getting my bachelors degree but who cares about that. My mind is very chaotic. I wrote these random sentences for the next generation so they know we were not just emotional and under peer pressure. So they know that we did everything we could to create a better future for them. So they know that our ancestors surrendered to Arabs and Mongols but did not surrender to despotism. This note is dedicated to tomorrow’s children…”
Such strength, beauty, courage, and humility…
Leave a comment

Filed under beauty, courage, daily life, faith, food for thought, hope, inspiring, iran, tears

Leave a Reply

