The curse of the rough draft

I currently have about eight rough drafts floating around of my two-page/1000 word personal statement.  None of them are quite finished.  None of them are what I want them to say.  None of them are perfect.  I keep trying to find the perfect medium that will crystalize the essence of who I am, what I did, and what I learned over the past six years in Brazil – the relationships that shaped me, the challenges that bent me, where I come from, and where I am going.  It all seems so important.  How can I leave out writing about Jeferson?  How can I not mention the favelas?  How can I tie in Peru, Taylor, Israel, Nepal, Colorado, and the people in those places that have mentored, guided, loved, and prayed for me?  How can I make it perfect?

And I know that it doesn’t have to be perfect.  But that doesn’t stop me from wanting it to be so – just the right picture, just the right phrase, the exact image, all leaving the reader feeling like they know me better, and want to continue that process…  So, now that I’ve vented a bit here, back to work…  Anyone else feel like being a voice in the editing process?  Just let me know…  =)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The curse of the rough draft

  1. martha

    gladly… it would be an honor (and probably also inspiring) =)

  2. Ben

    thanks martha. that’s exactly the kind of pressure i don’t need. =) i’ll put you on the list… but please keep your expectations low… and be brutal. it’ll be on its way soon. (at least one of them will…) =)

Leave a Reply

